Thankfulness

A new card is going out into the world for November.  No picture today because I’ve managed to lock myself out of my email account and I’m just not in the mood to deal with customer service reps, the computer or much of anything else.

I’m in the mood to snuggle on the couch with my youngest daughter while watching a British mystery and making more cards.

So, the new card is in honor of Thanksgiving and says:  “There is always something to be thankful for.”

I chose this for the new card because the saying has served me well in the last few weeks.  I don’t know where I first heard it, but many, many times it has resonated in my head.

When we had car trouble (repeatedly) and were struggling to get everyone in the family where they needed to be, when they needed to be there – I was thankful that the trouble was repairable, that we had a car to fix in the first place and had most of the resources we needed to solve the problem.

And when most of my chicken flock was killed in a raccoon attack, I was thankful that two survived so we will still have fresh eggs.

I could go on, but you get the idea.  When circumstances aren’t going my way and when life isn’t the way I wish it would be, it’s helpful for me to consider that there is always something to be thankful for.  It’s a choice I’m trying to make a habit of.  The choice to look on the bright side and to live in gratitude.

These cards are going out in the Austin, TX area and around the Texas Renaissance Festival thanks to a new friend who is helping share the cards.

Leave a comment